Mt. Triumph to celebrate 119th anniversary

KEVIN HARVISON | Staff photoMt. Triumph Missionary Baptist Church will celebrate its 119th anniversary at 3 p.m. Sunday.

The pastor and members of the Mt. Triumph Missionary Baptist Church will be celebrating their 119th church anniversary at 3 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 13.

The church is located at 408 E. Wyandotte Ave. in McAlester and the public is invited to attend. The special guest speaker will be Rev. Roger Stephenson and Brushy Creek Baptist Church of Wagoner, and a choir will render musical selections during the service, along with the Mt. Triumph Baptist choir.

Mt. Triumph began its organization in McAlester in the late 1890s on North Main Street, under the Pastorate of Rev. Phillips. Records show that Mt. Triumph was the first black church to organize here in 1901. MTBC was moved to a small building that was erected on South Main. In 1905, a lot was purchased and Mt. Triumph made its last move to the present site, 408 E. Wyandotte.

Since 1934, the following men were called to Pastor at MTBC:

— Rev. J.L. Hawkins; Rev. Robert E Warren, Rev. Isaac Buie Jr; and Rev. Kenneth Davis.

After the untimely death of Rev. Davis in July of 2005, the Mt. Triumph Baptist Church under the direction of the Lord called our present Pastor, Rev. Anthony D. Washington to Pastor the Church. Pastor Washington will celebrate 11 years of devoted service in December.

Like those before him, Pastor Washington came with a plan and a vision for the Church. Although much has been accomplished under his leadership, he reminds his members that our work is not done...there is still much more to do.

Co-chairpersons for the church anniversary are Sis. Ruby Boyce, Sis. Will Ella Davis , Sis. Janette Sanders and First Lady Loise Washington. The members are very excited about this year’s anniversary and invite the public to come out and join in worshipping the Lord during this celebration.

Recommended for you