The Women of the Year award honor roll has just grown by four more names.

The Women of Action Committee has selected Faye Durant, Maureen Harrison, Beth McClain and Jane Woodliff as its honorees this year.

Durant was nominated by the Ohoyohoma Club. The McAlester Business and Professional Women’s Club nominated Harrison. McClain was nominated by the Homemakers Department, McAlester Fortnightly Club. Woodliff was nominated by the Literary Department, McAlester Fortnightly Club.

This year’s speaker will be Dr. Lucy Smith, superintendent of McAlester Public Schools.

McAlester Public Library Head Librarian Chris Sauro of the committee explained it was formed in 1996 to honor deserving women in Pittsburg County for their contributions to the community and to celebrate the contributions of women everywhere during National Women in History Month in March.

The committee consists of members of women’s organizations in McAlester and the surrounding area.

The four will be honored during a luncheon at the McAlester Country Club March 9 at noon. Tickets are $12 and reservations must be made by March 6 by calling Sauro at 426-0930. Those attending will pay at the door on March 9.

Sauro said the luncheon is open to anyone who wishes to attend but she must know by March 6 who is coming so she can give a lunch count to employees at the country club.

A free reception will follow at 7 p.m. March 9 at the Little Chapel on the Hill, 101 E. Washington Ave. No reservations are needed for the reception.

Contact Teresa Atkerson at

Trending Video

Recommended for you