Friday is the last day to file for the June 24 election to fill the seats of several county and state offices.

By Thursday, all the incumbent Pittsburg County officeholders who are up for re-election had filed for office. And a few of the incumbents will face opponents for the election.

A Declaration of Candidacy was filed by William “Bill” Webber for incumbent District 1 Commissioner Gene Roger’s seat.

Incumbent District 3 Commissioner Trent Meyers now has two opponent, as of Thursday, with Ross Selman and Miles Cathey. Selman filed as a candidate for the District 3 county commissioner’s seat on Wednesday, and Cathey filed Thursday.

Also filing for reelection as of Thursday, are Pittsburg County Assessor Cathy Haynes, County Clerk Hope Trammell and County Treasurer Donna Scrivner.

Meanwhile, Democrat incumbent District 17 state Rep. Dr. Brian Renegar filed for a fifth two-year term in office, and will face Republican Micah Thompson, of Canadian.

Also filing for reelection are District 18 state Rep. Donnie Condit, D-McAlester, who is seeking a third two-year term, and District 18 District Attorney Farley Ward, D-McAlester, who filed for a second four-year term as the district attorney for Pittsburg and Haskell counties.

James Bland, current associate district judge in Pittsburg County, filed for the District 18 district judge’s position for Pittsburg and McIntosh counties. Current District 18 District Judge Thomas Bartheld has stated that he will not file for re-election.

And Bill Layden, of McAlester, filed for the position of associate district judge in Pittsburg County. A protest to his candidacy was filed late Thursday afternoon by  Special Judge Tim Mills.

In Pittsburg County filings, Rogers is seeking a fifth four-year term in office in District 1, while Webber is seeking re-election to the county commissioner’s post he held from 1983 until 1998.

In the county assessor’s office, Haynes is seeking election to a second four-year term in office. She ran opposed when she filed for the office in 2010.

Scrivner is seeking election to a second four-year term as well. She was also unopposed in 2010 when she ran for office the first time.

In the county clerk’s office, Trammell was appointed to the post in February when then-clerk Debbie Burch resigned.

In Pittsburg County’s District 3, Myers won election to an unexpired term in the county commissioner’s office in November 2013 when then-commissioner Ronnie Young died.

In the District 2 U.S. representative’s race, incumbent Markwayne Mullin, R-Westville, filed for re-election Wednesday to a second two-year term in office. Mullin will run against fellow Republican Darrel Robertson, of Jay.

The filing period for all of the offices extends through 5 p.m. today.

Senior Editor James Beaty contributed to this report.

Contact Jeanne LeFlore at

Trending Video

Recommended for you