McAlester News-Capital, McAlester, OK

May 4, 2014

Pitt 8 releases All-Conference teams

By Matt Goisman
Sports Writer

McALESTER — The Pitt 8 Conference has released its All-Conference teams for both baseball and slowpitch softball. As conference champions in both sports, Stuart had the most players earn All-Conference honors.

In softball, Stuart’s Cierra Chapman was named Player of the Year, and her coach Chance Chapman was named Coach of the Year. Stuart’s other All-Conference players were Kylie Jernigen, Kayla Smith, Emilee Beck and Chasity Garvin.

Kiowa finished runner-up behind Stuart in both the conference and the Pitt 8 Tournament. The Cowgirls’ All-Conference players were Elizabeth Mitchell, Madi Slawson and Rylee Smith.

From Crowder, Rachel Johnson, Lizzie Crenshaw and Bryce Wilson all made All-Conference. From Haileyville, Joy Picotte and Kaylie Stephens made it.

Pittsburg’s Chandler Billingsley and Angela Meredith made All-Conference, as did Indianola’s Ruth Bullard and Jordan Thames. Canadian’s Megan Woodard rounded out the list.

Savanna, the eighth school in the Pitt 8, did not compete in slowpitch this spring.

In baseball, Stuart’s Dillon Lawrence was named Player of the Year, and his coach Jon Booth was named Coach of the Year. Stuart’s other All-Conference players were Zach Murdaugh and Jacob Stopp.

Crowder beat Stuart for the Pitt 8 Tournament championship but finished runner-up behind Stuart in the conference. Crowder’s All-Conference players were Josh Motley, Clay Bell, Hunter Motley and Austin Weeks.

From Savanna, Ryan Weeks, Kris Perry and Seth Burke all made All-Conference. From Kiowa, Clay Doyle, Braeten Anders and Brice Smith made it.

Indianola’s Roger Shirley and Blake Wilson made All-Conference, as did Canadian’s Kaleb Stowers and Hayden Hopper. Haileyville’s Aubrey Champion rounded out the list.

Pittsburg, the eighth school in the Pitt 8, did not compete in baseball this spring.

All-Conference lists were provided by Canadian principal Bud Rattan on Friday.

Between players and coaches, Stuart had 10 individuals honored by the Pitt 8. Crowder had seven, Kiowa had six and Indianola had four.

Haileyville, Canadian and Savanna all had three All-Conference players. Pittsburg had two.

The Stuart Lady Hornets and Crowder Demons are the only two Pitt 8 teams remaining in the postseason. The Lady Hornets will play in the Class 2A state slowpitch tournament Wednesday in Shawnee, and the Demons will begin their Class 2A regional tournament Thursday.

Contact Matt Goisman at