McAlester News-Capital, McAlester, OK

May 17, 2013

Pitt 8 announces All-Conference teams

By Matt Goisman
Sports Writer

McALESTER — From the Hornets, who also won the Pitt 8 baseball tournament, Dillon Lawrence made the team and was also voted Most Valuable Player. Teammates Colten Hutchins, Sam Mitchell, Jacob Stopp and Quinton Gordon also all made the team.

From the Lady Hornets, Kylie Jernigen, Cierra Chapman, Jesse Jones, Brianna Wimberly, Emilee Beck and Megan Jernigen all made the softball all-conference team. Stuart coach Chance Chapman won Coach of the Year.

From the Demons, Josh Motley, Clay Bell, Hunter Motley and Eric Crenshaw all made the All-Conference baseball team. Demons coach Larry Tucker won Coach of the Year.

From the Pitt 8 tournament-champion Demonettes, Sierra Romine, Kaitie Leak, Kelsie Roach, Kylee Bennett and Sierra Vasquez made All-Conference. Romine was named MVP.

For more on this story, see the print or electronic editions of the McAlester News-Capital. Click here for print edition home delivery or click here to see the Smart Edition for your computer, tablet, e-reader or smartphone.