McAlester News-Capital, McAlester, OK

December 16, 2012

Local football players named All-District

By Matt Goisman
Sports Writer

McALESTER — The Hartshorne Miners went 7-3 in the regular season. They finished second in District 2A-6, clinching a first-round home playoff game.

With such a successful season, five Miners making the recently named All-District team should come as no surprise.

Junior quarterback Kolton Montgomery kicked off Hartshorne’s honors by winning Co-Offensive Player of the Year. On the defensive side, junior Cody Ward earned Co-Defensive Lineman of the Year, and Alex Chatkehoodle won Co-Linebacker of the year.

Four local Class A schools — Quinton, Savanna, Haileyville and Canadian — all compete District A-6, and two of those schools saw players earn All-District honors. For Quinton, junior Caleb Hays was named a Linebacker of the Year, while fellow junior Quintin Needham was named a Defensive Back of the Year.

At Savanna, Bernie Underwood capped a very successful senior year by being named a Defensive Lineman of the Year, while junior Tanner Dugger was named Linebacker of the year.

And for leading the Bulldogs to their first district title in 50 years, James Bond was named Coach of the Year.

For more on this story, see the print or electronic editions of the McAlester News-Capital. Click here for print edition home delivery or click here to see the Smart Edition for your computer, tablet, e-reader or smartphone.