McAlester News-Capital, McAlester, OK

January 28, 2014

Class A and B district tourneys announced

By Matt Goisman
Sports Writer

McALESTER — District tournaments have been announced for Class A and B by the Oklahoma Secondary Schools Activities Association. Tournament play starts Feb. 13 for five local schools.

Both Pittsburg and Indianola have been assigned to Class B Area IV. Pittsburg and Milburn will travel to Wapanucka for the District 4 Tournament, and Indianola and Calvin will travel to Buffalo Valley for the District 8 Tournament.

In a three-team district tournament, the top seed automatically receives a first-round bye. The other two teams play each other on the first day of competition, the winner of which goes on to play the top seed in the district championship.

Both the district champion and runner-up qualify for the regional tournament, but if the district champion loses at Regionals, it drops from the winner’s bracket to the loser’s bracket. But losing the district championship drops a team into the loser’s bracket for the rest of the postseason, so another loss would mean elimination.

Should Indianola advance out of Districts, it’d either play at regional main site Bethel or sub-site Dale. If Pittsburg advances, it’d either play at main site Wilburton or sub-site Moyers.

Regional tournaments start Feb. 20. Area tournaments start Feb. 27, with the Class B Area IV Tournament set to take place at Ada.

Kiowa, Stuart and Haileyville have all been assigned to Class A Area IV. Kiowa hosts Moss and Stringtown in the District 1 Tournament, and Stuart hosts Haileyville and Clayton in the District 4 Tournament.

With Stuart and Haileyville in the same district, at least one Class A team is guaranteed to advance to Regionals. Kiowa, Stuart and Haileyville would all compete at either main site Kiowa or sub-site Stuart for Regionals.

Southeastern Oklahoma State University in Durant will host the Class A Area IV Tournament.

District meetings took place Monday to decide on seeding. The official bracket, complete with starting game times, will be available on by this coming Monday.

District tournaments for classes 2A through 4A, which include local schools Canadian, Crowder, Hartshorne, Savanna, Quinton (all Class 2A) and Wilburton (Class 3A) start Feb. 21. Playoff assignments will be released on on Feb. 6, with district meetings to decide seeding and game times to take place Feb. 10.

In Class 5A, McAlester has been assigned to the East area. Official playoff brackets with regional assignments and game times will be released Feb. 13 on, with regional tournaments starting Feb. 27.

Class 5A playoffs are single-elimination, with 16 teams each in the East and West areas.

Contact Matt Goisman at