McAlester News-Capital, McAlester, OK

December 26, 2013

Cougars, Warriors drop to 8-man

By Matt Goisman
Sports Writer

McALESTER — Canadian and Haileyville have been assigned to District B-4 in the new football districts released by the Oklahoma Secondary School Activities Association for the 2014-15 and 2015-16 school year. The move drops both teams from 11-man Class A to eight-man Class B.

Both Cougars head coach Mike Terney and Haileyville coach Dennis Ford said before the 2013 season they expected to drop to Class B. The two teams finished seventh and eighth in District A-6 this season, with Haileyville going 0-10 and Canadian only beating Haileyville.

District B-4 also includes Arkoma, Caddo, Dewar, Gans, Keota, Porum, Weleetka and Wetumka. Wetumka won District B-4 this season, going 9-0 in district play and losing to Pond Creek-Hunter in the quarter-finals on Nov. 22.

Both second-place Keota and third-place Davenport also reached the quarter-finals. Fourth-place Dewar qualified for the playoffs but lost in the first round.

Davenport will move to District B-3 next season. Strother will move to District B-2, and Cave Springs and Bowlegs will drop to Class C.

Moves by Haileyville and Canadian will also mean changes for Savanna and Quinton in Class A. Both schools will play in District A-8 next season, though several of their opponents will be the same as they played in District A-6 this year.

District A-6 champion Talihina will move to A-8, as will Central Sallisaw and Gore. Porter Consolidated and Warner round out the new district.

Warner finished third in District A-8 this season, made the playoffs but lost the first round. Porter Consolidated finished fifth in A-8 with a 3-7 overall record.

Hartshorne and Wilburton will remain in District 2A-6 next year, as will the majority of their 2013 opponents. Liberty will replace Hugo next season, moving up from Class A.

Liberty went 1-9 during the 2013 season, finishing sixth out of seven teams in District A-8. Rounding out 2A-6 will be Antlers, Panama, Pocola and Vian.

McAlester won District 5A-3 in 2013 and the Buffs will defend that same district in 2014. Though the order of games might change, McAlester will face the same seven district opponents: Bishop Kelley, Durant, Memorial, Nathan Hale, Noble, Shawnee and Skiatook.

Contact Matt Goisman at