McAlester News-Capital, McAlester, OK

Local News

October 8, 2010

McAlester hospital CEO ousted by board

McALESTER — Groups of hospital employees met on Thursday in the wake of the action by the McAlester Regional Health Center Authority Board to “terminate” the contract of hospital administrator Shaun Beggs.

The MRHC Authority  voted Wednesday night to terminate the contract of MRHC President/Chief Executive Officer Beggs “effective immediately.”

Chuck Boss confirmed on Thursday that he is the interim acting hospital administrator. He expected the board to make another appointment to the interim position in a few weeks.

Boss, whose regular job is vice president of Ancillary Services at MRHC, is currently serving as the interim acting hospital administrator under the hospital’s succession plan.

“We will continue,” Boss said of the hospital’s daily operations, referring any further questions to MRHC Vice President of Specialty Services and Human Resources Emily Mouser, or hospital spokesperson Susan Williams.

Asked about Beggs’ salary, Mouser said records show he was paid $245,315 annually.

Beggs’ original two-year contract as hospital president/CEO went into effect on April 27, 2005,  and had been set to automatically renew at the end of each term, with a couple of possible exceptions according to Mouser.

He previously worked at the hospital as its chief financial officer starting on Oct. 28, 2003, Mouser said.

Following an executive session behind closed doors on Wednesday night, MRHC Authority Board members voted in open session to terminate Beggs’ contract.

After the council had concluded the closed session, MRHC Authority Board member Weldon Smith — a former McAlester city councilor — made a motion to terminate Beggs’ contract, effective immediately, and board member Charlotte Donathan seconded the motion.

MRHC board members joining Smith and Donathan in favor of terminating the contract were MRHC Authority Chairman Dr. Leroy Milton, Anthony Washington, Don Lewis, a former McAlester mayor; Dr. Ray Dixon, Cara Bland and Evans McBride.

MRHC Board member Dr. Don Shuller cast the lone dissenting vote.

For more on this story, see Friday's print edition of the McAlester News-Capital.

Contact James Beaty at

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local News