McAlester News-Capital, McAlester, OK

February 21, 2012

DeDe Beckner is named Teacher of Year for McAlester School District

By Jeanne LeFlore
Staff Writer

McALESTER — On Monday Denise “Dede” Beckner was awarded Teacher of the Year for the McAlester School District.

During the ceremony Beckner was presented with a plaque and other prizes including four tickets to the Oklahoma City Thunder from Love’s bottling company and $500 from National Oil Well Varco, during the event held at the S. Arch Thompson Auditorium.

Beckner was selected from five finalists including Christina Braswell, Edmond Doyle Elementary;  Karen Johnson, Emerson Elementary; Jennifer Lewis, Will Rogers Elementary and Justin Mullins from McAlester High School.

For more on this story, see the print or electronic editions of the McAlester News-Capital. Click here for print edition home delivery or click here to see the Smart Edition for your computer, tablet, e-reader or smart phone.

Contact Jeanne LeFlore at